top of page

Shaam, for Sitar and Sinfonietta


Premiered by Aruna Kharod and Density512, in Austin, TX in June, 2017. Shaam (Evening) is inspired by a composition in Raga Bihag by Pt. Ravi Shankar, in Vilambit Teentaal (a slow 16-beat cycle). Slowly, the shades of this raga interact and merge with the colors of Western Classical instruments. 
Scored for "sinfonietta": 2 violins, viola, cello, double bass, flute, clarinet, oboe, bassoon, horn, flugelhorn, trombone, piano and percussion.

Duration: 9'

2. Pasyati Dishi Dishi (7')
3. Dariyav (7')
bottom of page